The First

My first post! So exciting! I’m writing this about 6 months into my first full time gig as a children’s librarian. I’ve learned a lot in those 6 months, so much that I need this blog to organize my thoughts and plans and successes and failures and dreams of library awesomeness.

It makes me think back to my first day of work, my first storytime (eek!), my first really awesome reader’s advisory exchange with a kid. All this makes me so happy to be doing what I’m doing. I hope I’ll be able to share that enthusiasm and some fresh ideas with all of you. I also hope I’ll be able to share the things I’ve learned and what and who has inspired me.

I plan to share my adventures in libraryland – especially when it comes to programming. Programming is something I love! It keeps me excited about work and provides endless opportunities to engage with my library’s community. In my current position I work with kids 0-12, so that means I do plenty of storytime and school age programs. I also do a lot of outreach to local schools and daycares.

Considering this blog is another first, at this point I’m not sure what all will end up here. All that I can really say is I’m ready to get started!

Leave a Reply

