Rainy Days – Preschool Storytime

April showers are here! It’s been a rainy few weeks here, so I wanted to have some fun with it. Ironically, it didn’t actually rain the day of this storytime, but we had fun pretending!

Books

Split! Splat! by Amy Gibson

Red Rubber Boot Day by Mary Lyn Ray

Little Cloud by Eric Carle

Songs

The Rain is Falling Down
I found this cute song on Jbrary (man, I love literally everything I find there!). It was great to use since it wasn’t actually raining we sang the song to make it “rain” in the storytime room.

All the Raindrops
from Perry Public Library
If all the raindrops were lemon drops and gumdrops – oh what a rain that would be!
I’d stand outside with my mouth open wide – ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah
If all the raindrops were lemon drops and gumdrops – oh what a rain that would be!

Boots by Laurie Berkner Band
Oh my, do I LOVE this song. It’s just a fun dancing song. Plus, it adds some fun letter recognition play with the spelling of B-O-O-T-S! Before playing the song and dancing around I introduced the song by talking about boots (When do we wear boots? Where do we put them? What kind of boots do you wear?) and spelling out the letters of the work and talking about their sounds. I have the letters cut out and put them up on the flannel board for the song. And then we dance!!

 

Leave a Reply

