Quiet/Loud – Baby Storytime

This is from one of my very first Baby/Toddler Storytimes back in October. I had some some storytimes for preschool and school age kids before, but never for babies. So, I was understandably nervous. I took to the Internet to find some ideas and was struck with the quiet/loud theme I found over at Storytime Secrets  and decided to run with it.

Books

Quiet, Loud by Leslie Patricelli

This book is adorable and was lots of fun! The kids responded well to it. I only wish it was bigger – we just have a medium sized board book version of it.

Moo Baa La La La by Sandra Boynton

I’ve always loved this book. It was the perfect length for the baby/toddler crowd and let us make some loud animal noises!

Peek a Boo Morning by Rachel Isadora

I added this book in even though it didn’t really fit with the quiet/loud theme because I thought it would work well with the audience. It seemed to fall a little flat with the crowd. I read it last and it might have been that I just lost the group a little bit or might have been my delivery. Like I said, this was one of my very first baby storytime’s, so I know I’ve got a ways to go!

 

Songs

One of my favorite storytime songs is “When Ducks Get Up in the Morning”. I learned it from one of the librarians I observed during one of my internships while I was in library school who did this for her hello song . Here is a video of an awesome librarian from King County singing the song. For this quiet/loud storytime I used a few different animal puppets to go along with the song. Some we LOUD animals  (lion, dinosaur) and some were quiet (mouse, bee). As I pulled out each animal we talked about the noise that animal makes and how loud or quiet they are. Then we sang the verses. I don’t think the families at storytime had done this song before so it took a little bit for them to get into it. I think the puppets and the repetition definitely helped. By the end we had a lot of fun with it!

Leave a Reply

