Hora de Cuentos

With Spanish storytime I usually don’t do a theme. Our Spanish picture book collection isn’t as extensive as our English one, so I try to focus on picking books that will be good for storytime rather than focusing on a theme. I think themes can be fun, but I’d rather read great books that have a well organized theme any day!

Books

Los bosillos saltarines/Wiggling Pockets by Pat Mora
I really like Pat Mora’s bilingual books. They are just the right length for storytime. This one has a silly plot line of a little boy named Danny who sneaks frogs into his house in his pockets, and hilarity ensures!  I just read the Spanish text in storytime and the kids and adults both seemed to get a kick out of it.

Clic, Clac, Plif, Plaf by Doreen Cronin
This crowd loved concept  books, and counting seems to be one of their favorites. So, I’m always looking for new counting books to share. I love so much of Doreen Cronin’s work, but this one just doesn’t thrill me.

Los cocodrilos no se cepillan los dientes by Colin Fancy
I love the mix of animals in here – crocodiles, lions, owls, oh my!

Songs

I usually include a mix of my favorite Spanish songs in every storytime. A few weeks ago one of my coworkers taught me a new song that I tried out today. I played Jose-Luis Orozco’s version of the song and we sang along while I added elefantes to the flannel board.Lots of the adults in the audience knew the song and sang along with me! I think I’ll do this more often.

Los elefantes
Un elefante se balanceaba
sobre la tela de una araña,
como veía que resistía
fue a llamar a otro elefante.

Dos elefantes se balanceaban,
sobre la tela de una araña,
como veían que resistía
fueron a llamar a otro elefante.

Tres elefantes…
Cuatro elefantes…
etc….

One thought on “Hora de Cuentos

Leave a Reply

