Hora de Cuentos – Numeros

This week’s Spanish storytime was all about numbers. Sometimes, themes work out 🙂 We got started counting early by singing 10 Deditos after our usual Buenos Dias song.

 I decided to try out a Spanish version of “Mouse in House” aka “El ratón en casa”. I’ve been trying to come up with something that would actually rhyme with casa (house), but calabaza (pumpkin) seems a little odd. Any other suggestions? Or should I just embrace the silliness of guessing where the pumpkin in the house is? Maybe I will once fall comes around again! Anyways, the kids loved practicing their colors, counting the number of houses and guessing where the mouse was hiding. I think it worked well, though for a full Spanish storytime I think it would be better if it rhymed. I think this would work nicely in a bilingual storytime too – to practice colors and numbers in both languages.

Books

Los diez puntos negros – Donald Crews

La fiesta de cumpleaños – JC Girbés Aparisi y SIlvia Ortega

Cover image for La fiesta de cumpleaños

Mis Numeros – Ed Emberley

Cover image for My numbers = Mis numeros

Songs

Cabeza, hombros, rodillas y pies
Y todos aplaudimos a la vez.
Ojos, orejas, boca y nariz
Y todos aplaudimos a la vez.

I tried out Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes in Spanish. Here are some great videos from King County Library System of the song and a librarian teaching it to kids. It was fun to get up and move, but since this was a new song they were a little unsure of it. With some more practice I think it will become more fun. I followed it up with Tooty Ta, which is this groups ultimate favorite!

Leave a Reply

