Baby/Toddler Storytime Revamped… or How Jbrary Saved the Day!

As a new library school graduate I had never before done a storytime for babies and toddlers. At my current library we have a storytime for kiddos 0-2 years. Our staff rotates through storytimes based on our schedules, so I’ve only done a handful of baby/toddler storytimes since I started. I’ve gotten pretty comfortable with preschool, Spanish, and family storytimes, but for some reason baby/toddler storytime just wasn’t clicking for me. Until I read this post from Lindsay from Jbrary. Lindsay talks about switching from her standard large group babytime formula to a formula for a smaller group with more playtime and one-on-one interaction. It made me realize I needed to do the opposite. Our baby/toddler storytime usually draws a crowd of 75-100 people and I was doing too many things that would be better suited to smaller groups or preschool storytime. So with Lindsay’s original formula in mind, I sought out some awesome new bounces (mostly from Jbrary) and some tried and true hit songs for this crowd and finally felt like I hit my groove in baby/toddler storytime!

Here’s the highlights from this refreshed storytime:

Welcome

  • Hello, Hello
  • Clap & Sing Hello
  • Open & Shut Them

Book – Babies by David Bedford and Leonie WorthingtonCover image for Babies

This book is actually cataloged as non-fiction. It has sweet simple text about animal babies and was perfect for storytime. We have a great zoo in our city, so the kids recognized a lot of animals you don’t typically see in picture books like meerkats!

Bounces & Songs (4-5)

Book – Sleepyheads by Sandra J. HowattSLEEPYHEADS by Sandra J. Howatt
Dancing Songs & Movement (4-5)

  • Sleeping Bunnies – I found a fun Irish take on this tune by The Derry Hares. The kids had a lot of fun pretending to be bunnies sleeping and hopping!
  • Shake Your Sillies Out by Raffi
  • If You’re Happy and You Know It
  • 5 Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed – I flipped throw the pages of Eileen Christelow’s through this song.

Goodbye (Lullabies and Closing Songs)

Like I said, it went really well. A big thank you to Lindsay and Dana over at Jbrary for sharing all of your awesomeness 🙂

4 thoughts on “Baby/Toddler Storytime Revamped… or How Jbrary Saved the Day!

  1. Story times are always a work in progress, aren’t they? I’ve been slowly trying to adapt the story time outlines I learned in school to make them better work for my groups. I’m a big fan of Jbrary, too, which is how I came across your blog! Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

