Hello, Baby!

For baby-toddler storytime this week I wanted to use some of the cute hello books we’ve been getting in lately. At my library we  do two storytimes back to back with about 80-100 kids and adults in each session. The first session went totally as planned, and the second, well, didn’t. So, I’m going to share that one 🙂

I started out with the regular hello songs and jumped into my first book, Say Hello Like This by Mary Murphy. This book is adorable and was very well received in both groups. It’s just the right length for babies.

Then we did some bounces and songs:

  • A Hippopotamus Got on a City Bus – a new favorite from jbrary. The adults thought it was hilarious and the kids liked the motions.
  • The Wheels on the Bus
  • Little Red Wagon

And then I jumped into my second book, Hello Baby by Mem Fox.

In the first session the crowd was very attentive, guessed each animal and made animals noises along with me. The second group – not so much. There was a lot of extra energy in the room, wiggling around, and chatting by the adults. So, I abandoned ship literally 2 pages in and instead sang some songs. I first did Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star because I find no matter when, where, or to who I sing this song babies love it and immediately focus attention. It worked on the adults, too 🙂 We then did all of my wiggle songs:

  • Zoom, Zoom, Zoom to get up and moving
  • Shake Your Sillies Out by Raffi to dance it out
  • If You’re Happy and You’re Know It

For some reason that morning I had grabbed two extra books, Jane Cabrera’s Old MacDonald Had a Farm and Monkey and Me by Emily Gravett.

I often find that when a crowd is a little extra wiggly sharing books that I can sing too draws their attention more and also makes it a little more comfortable for the little ones to wiggle just a little bit while they are listening and experiencing the rhythm.  So, we finished off with these two books and a few more songs in between. I honestly don’t remember what songs I used. I was mostly just going off of the crowd’s energy.

This was one of the first storytimes that that really not gone according to plan, but I felt lucky that I have almost a year of stroytime under my belt know and had enough in my back pocket to keep things moving along!

 

Leave a Reply

