Captain Underpants Party

Captain Underpants Party

Banned Books Week was a while ago, but I still wanted to share the awesome Captain Underpants Party we put on at my library to celebrate the right to read! Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey was the most challenged book in 2013. I’ve read a few Captain Underpants books, and although they aren’t my favorite, they sure are popular. Our copies are constantly checked out and falling apart from so many reads. Banned Books is all about celebrating the right to read what you choose so, I decided we should honor them with a party!

IMG_0730 IMG_0739 IMG_0742

We hosted this party after school when we tend to get a lot of kids dropping in for a little while over the course of an hour or two. So, I wanted to set up stations where kids could come and go as they please. We had some coloring sheets and paper airplanes in one area, a superhero mask craft, Pin the Cape on Captain Underpants game, and the Professor Poopy Pants Name Generator name tag station. We had over 50 kids participate in the activities! There are a lot of really awesome ideas for Captain Underpants floating around the Internet. Here are a few places I found activities and inspiration:

  • Dav Pilkey’s website has a lot of great print outs. We used the Professor Poopy Pants Name Generator which the kids thought was hilarious. I think they were a little shocked when I told them the name of the activity, but there were lots of giggles! My lovely name turned into Stinky Burger Chunks 🙂
  • This Children’s Programming blog entry on their Captain Underpants Party was hugely helpful in deciding the organization of the event. It’s also where I got the idea for the superhero masks. Those were definitely the most popular!
  • The Blairs Boys blogged about a Captain Underpants Birthday Party where they played pin the cape on Captain Underpants. I drew a big Captain Underpants and one of my awesome teen volunteers made very cool paper capes. The kids also really enjoyed this game.

The event was a lot of fun and also gave me a great entry point to talk to fans of the book about banned books and book challenges. Many kids were surprised that the book had been banned, so we talked about why and why we celebrate the right to read and make reading decisions for ourselves. I hope you all had fun celebrating Banned Books Week and consider a Captain Underpants Party for next year!

One thought on “Captain Underpants Party

Leave a Reply

