Preschool Storytime: LOVE

Love StorytimeWith Valentine’s Day right around the corner I’ve been sharing books about love, hugs, and kisses in storytime. Last week I had a very fun love themed storytime.

Below is of all the fun we had. This is how I typically plan my storytimes, filling in the specific books, songs, and activities each week. This outline is a little different than my typical one. I’m playing around with adding a 4th book for my preschool storytimes since I’m starting to get more older kids on a regular basis. It worked really well this week, so I’ll be trying  it again!

 

Welcome
Book Hug Machine by Scott Campbell

This book is adorable. I think the adults liked it a little bit more than the kids did, but it was still a fun read. The kids gave hugs to their caregivers and each other as we read through the book. They also got a kick out of the page where the Hug Machine eats pizza for energy!

Songs
Book Dinosaur Kisses by David Ezra Stein

This book is awesome. We can fun stomping and chomping and pretending to give dinosaur kisses! Plus, it gave me a chance to include some dinosaur songs, which are always fun 🙂

Songs
Book A Kiss Like This by Mary Murphy

I like the bright pages and cute animals in this book. The kids love calling out the animals names. I had them blow kisses and/or kiss their caregivers when each animal gives a kiss. It was adorable.

Dances
  • Shake Your Sillies Out by Raffi on CD
  • If You’re Happy and You Know It
Book A Kiss Means I Love You by Katherine Madeline Allen

We just got this book in a few weeks ago. I love the photographs and the storytime kids did too. They were transfixed on the faces of all the kids in the book. We did the actions of waving, smiling, roaring, etc. on each page. If you haven’t read this in storyime yet, I really recommend it!

Goodbye
Leave a Reply

