A Few of My Favorites Things: Picture Books

With the year wrapping up, I wanted to share a few of my favorite books that I came across in 2015, and decided I’d start with picture books. This is by no means a comprehensive list of all the great picture books that came out in 2015 or guesses at which books will be winning awards. It’s simply a short list of the books I enjoyed the most and the ones that stuck with me over the year.

2015 was a good year for picture books. Particularly picture books about crayons.

crayons_

The Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt

I adored this book. It’s funny, sweet, goofy, and interesting. The voices of the crayons cracked me up, and I loved all the little treats throughout the book for the observant reader to find. I was a big fan of Daywalt’s first crayon book, and this follow up did not disappoint! He really nails that early elementary sense of humor, and I think this book is an absolute joy.

 

red

Red: A Crayon’s Story by Michael Hall

This book fills my heart up. I love the bright, warm art. I love the simple approach to some pretty tough stuff – self love, identity, courage, and finding your place in the world  – all things that kids and adults alike struggle with. I applaud Hall for telling such a great  and heartwarming story.

 

 

 

waiting

Waiting by Kevin Henkes

I’ve been a fan of Kevin Henkes since my mom first read me Chrysanthemum when I was a little girl. His art captures a certain childlike sweetness and innocence  that fits so well with his gentle storytelling. This book is similar to his previous work, but enjoyable nonetheless. It’s visually adorable, and the story will remind you that magic and wonder might find you in those in between moments where you wait.

 

 

nest

You Nest Here with Me by Jane Yolen

I think this is the perfect bedtime story to share with your preschooler. The calm color pallet in the illustration and the soothing lyrical text will send your little one off to dreamland wrapped up in messages of love and care.

 

last stop

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de La Peña

There are so many things to love about this book. I think it might be my overall favorite from the year. CJ and his grandmother travel through their city taking in good and the bad. CJ, like many kids, has a million questions for his grandmother. She helps him understand  what he sees in his world in a kind and gentle way. I’ve never read a picture book like this before. This one certainly stands out.

 

What books have you remembered from this past year?

One thought on “A Few of My Favorites Things: Picture Books

Leave a Reply

